The Department of History started to function in 1963 at the Samoothiri College, Kozhikode as the Post Graduate Centre of the Kerala University. In 1968,when the University of Calicut was founded, the centre was shifted to the new University and started t function as the  History Research Centre. The Department offered Post Graduation, PhD courses in the beginning and later M Phil course. Dr T K Ravindran, Dr M G S Narayanan, Dr K K N Kurup, Dr Ibrahim Kunju, Dr M P Sreekumaran Nair, Dr M R Raghava Varrier, DR K J John, Dr S M Muhammed Koa, Dr V Kunhali, Dr E K G Nambiar, Sri. K P Velayudhan, DR V C Moidu, Dr K anesh, Dr Asokan Mundon etc., served the Department as faculties in different periods.

Our vision is to create a vibrant learning environment founded on value based academic principles that foster collaboration, a culture of accomplishment and strong support of ethnic and intellectual diversity wherein all involved shall contribute effectively, efficiently and responsibly .

Our mission is to provide

  • Highest quality Post Graduate and Doctoral education as per international standards.
  • State-of-the-art research facilities with the upgraded laboratory facilities time to time.
  • Strong partnerships with industries, government agencies, professional societies and local communities.
  • Extension and consultancy services to government, private, public and industrial sectors

Contact Us

Department of History
University of Calicut
Thenhipallam PO
Malappuram - 673635 PIN
Copyright © 2017 University of Calicut. All Rights Reserved | Powered By CUCC